Photo credit: Marieke Macklon

Bill Ryder-Jones has also confirmed a string of solo instore shows to mark the release of the album including London, Manchester, Cardiff and Glasgow. Additionally, last month it was announced that Ryder-Jones was sponsoring West Kirby United FC Under 10’s, more information here and you can support the club by buying a shirt here.

Watch the video for previously released “This Can’t Go On” here.

Iechyd Da is a record that is rooted in love, loss, pain, heartache and often a deep darkness, but also one that frequently ends up in places of profound beauty, hope and joy. “I love this album,” says Bill, “I haven't been this proud of a record since A Bad Wind Blows in My Heart.”

His first new record in five years, Iechyd Da is also his most ambitious LP to date. Beautifully produced, rich in scope, at times joyous, grand and sweeping, at others heartbreaking, intimate and tender. “It’s my most produced record,” adds Ryder-Jones, who from his Yawn studios in West Kirby has recently been producing the likes of Mick Head, Gerry Love and Saint Saviour. “It’s basically me carrying on with myself again, but this time around I’m a bit more competent as a producer.”

Lyrically, Ryder-Jones is also in potent form. At times he celebrates directness, being more open and honest than ever, while other moments are more complex and multi-faceted. He’s always able to seamlessly balance sadness with stunning beauty, and sly self-deprecation with palpable gentleness.

Due to Ryder-Jones’ deeply wide-screen approach to making Iechyd Da - one that has Mick Head reading Ulysses over an instrumental one moment (“...And the Sea…”) to sampling the Brazilian singer Gal Costa (“I Know That It’s Like This (Baby)”) – Bill even got children involved. “I just thought I'd throw the kitchen sink in and get some kids as well,” he says.

“Over the years my music has lost a bit of its hope I reckon,” contemplates Bill Ryder-Jones. “It were important for me to make a record that had more hope in it. Even by my standards the last few years have been rocky, but I’ve chosen to soundtrack it with more positive music, you know?”

Iechyd Da is available to pre-order on DomMart-exclusive coloured vinyl (with postcard), Dinked-edition coloured vinyl (with exclusive Big Softies 7” & signed sleeve) – sold out, Indies-exclusive coloured vinyl, standard vinyl, CD and digitally. Pre-order: Dom Mart | Digital

Upcoming 2024 live dates

  • Friday 12th January – Rough Trade East, London - solo
  • Saturday 13th January – Spillers, Cardiff - solo
  • Tuesday 16th January – Monorail, Glasgow - solo
  • Wednesday 17th January – Piccadilly, Manchester – solo
  • Thursday 18th January - Applestump Records, Nantwich - solo
  • Tuesday 12th March – Room 2, Glasgow
  • Wednesday 13th March - Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
  • Friday 15th March – The Castle & Falcon, Birmingham
  • Saturday 16th March – New Century Hall, Manchester
  • Sunday 17th March – Thekla, Bristol
  • Tuesday 19th March – CHALK, Brighton
  • Wednesday 20th March – Islington Assembly Hall, London
  • Thursday 21st March – Content, Liverpool
  • Saturday 23rd March – Paradiso, Amsterdam
  • Sunday 24th March – Hafenklang, Hamburg
  • Monday 25th March – Kantine am Berghain, Berlin
  • Wednesday 27th March – Trix Bar, Antwerp
  • Thursday 28th March – La Maroquinerie, Paris
  • Saturday 30th March – The Workman’s Club, Dublin
  • Sunday 31st March – Black Box, Belfast

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about