Rising London-based alt-folk act - MORNING TOURIST - has shared a new video for latest single “Honey”, taken from his debut album ‘The Endless Eve’ (due 21 August via Blaggers Records).


Blending nostalgic ‘90s childhood animations with sharp cultural commentary on the state of the world today, the new video for “Honey” was made by Sam Brentnall and sees a cartoon version of Sean McKinney (aka Morning Tourist) take a leading role.

Speaking of the new video, McKinney explains:

“The song kind of explores arrested development in the face of adult responsibility, so it seemed a fitting idea that we went with a Saturday morning cartoon-style animation with me as a child. We not-so-subtly had toys resemble contemporary cultural figures and symbols that proceed to freak out and anger my young avatar.”

Depicting the likes of Boris Johnson, Kim Kardashian and Joe Biden amongst a sea of nostalgic childhood toys, the video also takes subtle aim at social media and commercial giants like Amazon through its troublesome and twisted take on dystopia. Morning Tourist adds:

“I think [the video] does a great job of portraying the chaotic and duplicitous nature of modern culture and politics, and the way that can drive people’s emotions. Sam did amazing work with the idea and I can’t wait for people to see it.”

A staple in Morning Tourist’s live set and a firm favourite for the band to play at shows, “Honey” is a laid-back alternative-folk track seasoned with sweet harmonies and swelling acoustic guitars ripe for the season. However, gaze through the track’s golden veneer and you’ll find a track that smarts with the sting of dejection and resignation that can consume even the best of us when the world gets too much.

Tapping into the idea that often sadness isn’t a particularly dramatic feeling, but rather a subconscious emotion that can simmer under the surface as the planet continues to turn on its axis, McKinney explains of the song:

“”Honey” is a song about spinning one’s wheels and succumbing to resignation in the struggle. I wrote this in my late twenties, when feeling particularly low and not doing a good job of hiding it. It’s the difference between having a bad day once in a while and walking with that same feeling every day for what feels like a long time.”

Transferring these feelings into a song with a sunny-side up texture, “Honey” manages to hover neatly in the space between heavy-hearted melancholy and hopeful optimism. As Sean adds:

“The song is having a conversation with the people who love you, want to help you and hope you’ll pull yourself together. The song’s other voices are pleading with you to catch up and do better. I think this sense of perspective offsets the subject’s cynicism, and ultimately brings about the promise of resolution.”

Written and performed by Sean McKinney, produced and mastered by Tom Davis at Shenley Studios and with artwork courtesy of Leonie Antwerpen, “Honey” follows “Small Flame” as the second single to be plucked from Morning Tourist’s forthcoming debut album ‘The Endless Eve’. Set for release this Summer, the 9-track release boasts Morning Tourist’s bright potential as a shining new songwriting talent and flickers with shades of everything from Eliott Smith to The Shins and Sparklehorse to Villagers.

With all songs composed and written by Sean McKinney (including acoustic and electric guitar, percussion, vocals and keys), ‘The Endless Eve’ was recorded at Shenley Studios in Rushmoor. Produced and engineered by Tom Davis, the record features guest appearances from Jody Lahart (bass) and Sam Cahalin (synth), plus electric guitars by Harvey Fenny on closing track “Perfect Sense”. The full tracklisting is as follows:


1. New Leaf

2. Predictable

3. Solitaire

4. Small Flame

5. Drifting

6. Honey

7. Wilson

8. Masquerade

9. Perfect Sense

The new album also follows Morning Tourist’s 2018 EP ‘Quiet Lives’. Having attracted extensive radio play and local support, Morning Tourist has appeared on festival stages across Europe, and played extensively on the London live circuit both as a solo act and accompanied by his band.

In the lead up to the album’s release, Morning Tourist also has a number of live fixtures lined up for 2023. Fresh off the back of performances at The Great Escape and How The Light Gets In Festival, he will also play Glastonbury, Cheltenham’s Frog Fest, Bedford Esquires Ceremony Festival and more. Full dates and details below.


  • Monday June 5th, Lakefest ‘Amped Competition’ Semi Final, The Bedford, Balham, London
  • Sunday May 28th, How The Light Gets In Festival, Hay on Wye
  • Saturday 10th June, Bedford Esquires Ceremony Festival, Bedford
  • 21st-25th June, Glastonbury Festival, Pilton
  • Wednesday 5th July, ‘The Endless Eve’ LP Release Show, The Victoria, Dalston, London
  • 10th-13th August Lakefest, Herefordshire
  • Sunday 27th August, New Music Fest, Reigate
  • Sunday September 24th , Frog Fest, Cheltenham

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about