Aberdeen-via-Brighton alt-pop-rock trio THE XCERTS today return with the bombastic single ‘GIMME’ and announce their worldwide signing to UNFD.

‘GIMME’ hits top speed straight from the gate and shows the band at their fully fledged new-selves; a distorted pop sound that feeds off their established work but shows the band at a creative and adventurous stage in their career. The chop-cut guitars, urgent vocals and explosive production push ‘GIMME’s’ pop credentials to their limits and create a perfect sonic sledgehammer. The accompanying video, directed by Zak Pinchin, bottles up that energy, holds the viewer by the metaphorical ankles and shakes for one minute and forty five seconds - a perfect visual to accompany this fresh chapter of THE XCERTS evolution.

On writing the track, the band said "It’s been too long since we last released new music and we wanted to reintroduce ourselves with a rebirth of sorts. ‘GIMME’ is our most bombastic piece of work, sonically and musically, so it felt like the perfect introduction to the new era. Unapologetically in your face and written with complete artistic freedom. Lyrically, it’s more observational than gut-wrenchingly personal; when burning desire meets apathy, it’s both comical and pitiful, which makes for one hell of a scene”.

The band also announced their signing to a multi-album, worldwide record contract with Australian independent label UNFD. On the new signing, frontman Murray Macleod commented “We’re over the moon to have joined the UNFD family. It’s perhaps the first time in our career we have signed with a label who are as passionate about the band as we are. We feel very fortunate to be taken on by such a brilliant and versatile company this deep into our career”.

The XCERTS consist of frontman Murray Macleod, bassist Jordan Smith and drummer Tom Heron and released their debut album ‘In The Cold Wind We Smile’ in 2009. The band have toured the world over since their debut, building an incredible fan base of loyal fans and have released four albums to date, including the acclaimed ‘There Is Only You’ (2014) and ‘Hold Onto Your Heart’ (2018).

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about