HAMILTON, ONTARIOTwo-time JUNO Award-winning jazz vocalist Diana Panton has released "Nobody's Heart," the first single from her tenth album, blue. "Nobody's Heart" may be streamed or downloaded HERE.

Watch the "Nobody's Heart" video HERE.

In this poignant song by Rodgers and Hart, the gentle reflections of Reg Schwager's guitar underpin Diana Panton's beautiful vocal delivery.

Set for release on October 28, blue represents the culminating gesture in a musical narrative about romance that began with pink (2009 JUNO nominee in Canada and Silver Disc Award winner in Japan), followed by RED (2015 JUNO winner). With release dates spanning more than a decade, this trilogy charts the emotional arc of an ill-fated romantic relationship. The eponymous colours symbolically suggest content: pink is the infatuation of first-time love, RED, the passion of true love, and blue, the heartbreak and mystery of love lost.

“The release dates were deliberately spread over a decade from the first to the final album in the trilogy in order for the music to better reflect different stages in a relationship,” says Diana Panton. “I knew that my voice and perspective would be more mature if I waited to record the blue album a little later in my life.”

blue showcases Diana Panton, exuding confidence and completely in command of her interpretive powers. Her lustrous, evocative vocals are backed by the artistry of four longtime musical colleagues who made significant contributions to the beauty and passion of the RED album of 2015. The four include three Order of Canada honourees: tenor saxophonist Phil Dwyer C.M., guitarist Reg Schwager C.M., and pianist/arranger Don Thompson O.C., plus first-call bassist Jim Vivian. The sonic landscape of blue also features the extraordinary talents of the Penderecki String Quartet, who acquired their name in 1986 upon the invitation of the great Polish composer himself.

In command of a keen aesthetic sense, Diana Panton has attracted the attention of some of the jazz world’s most respected masters. When legendary multi-instrumentalist Don Thompson first heard the nineteen-year-old Diana sing, with unabashed enthusiasm he urged her to audition for the renowned Banff Centre for the Arts Jazz Workshop. It was there that she studied under Norma Winstone, and, in subsequent visits, with Sheila Jordan and Jay Clayton. When the time arrived for her to go into the recording studio, award-winning guitarist Reg Schwager was invited to join Don Thompson in laying down a collaborative sound that has proved to be, on all of her albums, the perfect setting for the delicate nuance of Diana’s pure vocals. The late, great jazz critic Len Dobin called the product of that first session, …yesterday perhaps, one of the finest debut albums he had heard in years.

Since the release of that first album in 2005, Diana Panton’s career has gathered astounding momentum, drawing international acclaim for her nine albums and the impressive variety and quality of her catalogue of songs. The numerous honours garnered include JUNO Awards for RED in 2015 and I Believe in Little Things in 2017, two Silver Disc Awards in Japan, seven JUNO nominations, nine Hamilton Music Awards, and a host of National Jazz Award nominations and Canadian and American independent music award nominations. I Believe in Little Things charted simultaneously on Billboard’s Jazz and Children’s Music charts and went to #1 on Amazon’s “Movers and Shakers” chart, following an interview on NPR. The album received a four-star review in DownBeat magazine and was one of their Best Albums of 2016. Panton’s albums have made the year-end lists of ICI Musique, NOW Magazine, Jazz Critique Magazine, The Montreal Mirror, and DownBeat, among others, and, in addition to reaching #1 on Amazon and iTunes in Canada and the US, have made bestseller lists in Hong Kong, Japan, and Taiwan.

blue will be available on all download and streaming services.

Album Details: blue
Release Date: October 28, 2022
SRP: CD - $12.99 US; $15.00 CDN. Download: $9.99 US & CDN
Run time: 65 minutes


  1. Medley: Where Do You Start? / Once Upon a Time
  2. Yesterday
  3. Without Your Love
  4. Losing My Mind
  5. This Will Make You Laugh
  6. The Trouble with Hello is Goodbye
  7. I'm Gonna Laugh You Right Out of My Life
  8. To Say Goodbye
  9. Meaning of the Blues
  10. I'll Only Miss Him When I Think of Him
  11. It's Always 4 a.m.
  12. Just Sometimes
  13. How Did He Look?
  14. Nobody's Heart
  15. Spring Will Be a Little Late This Year
  16. You Are There

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about