Liz Cass has released a beautiful video for her latest single ‘Something Real’, taken from her forthcoming debut album The Words out October 21st via Ultra Records. The track is proving a strong radio hit on both sides of the Atlantic, receiving spins on iHeartRADIO and it will also be getting its first play on Radio 1 this evening with Mollie King championing the song on her Future Pop show.

The self-directed visuals for ‘Something Real’ feature a stunning performance from Liz as the touching lyrics of the song run throughout. ‘Something Real’ is a crystalline synth-pop track with glacial harmonies and shimmering synths as Liz’s vocals detail self-discovery and escaping toxicity.

Regarding the single Liz says, “‘Something Real’ is about the search for a genuine connection and looking for that in all the wrong places. Coming to a realisation that only you can break your own toxic patterns. I kept finding myself in the same place over and over and blaming it on others. I finally asked myself question: why am I putting myself in these situations that hurt me, do I enjoy it?! It's a very personal song for me but I think a lot of people have been there at some point. Looking for real connection from the emotionally unavailable in dead end places.”

‘Something Real’ follows the release of singles ‘Near Miss’, ‘Shaken’ and ‘Human’ all taken from the forthcoming debut album The Words. The acclaimed releases have seen Liz receive great praise from the likes of Notion, Clash, Wonderland and many more.

The forthcoming debut album captures a pivotal moment for Liz and plays as a process of healing. Through its warm synths and bouncy electro-pop it presents an intimate insight into overcoming depression, anxiety and resilience to ADHD.

Playing like a cross between Caroline Polachek and Lana Del Rey, The Words ranges from tracks with rich atmospheric electronics such as the highly emotive ‘Side By Side’ or the sultry ‘Blue’, to huge pop hits such as the funky ‘Confessional’, produced and mixed by the legendary David Wrench (Arlo Parks, Let’s Eat Grandma, Frank Ocean).

The contrasting shades of The Words reflect a monumental journey. Coming from the darkest depths and stepping into the light, fully embracing the ebbs and flows of life, the album showcases the strength gained from overcoming challenging times and pouring this into honest, heartfelt songs. As Liz Cass declares in the album’s opening line, “This is my confessional…”


  1. Confessional
  2. Near Miss
  3. Shaken
  4. Something Real
  5. Human
  6. The Words
  7. Side By Side
  8. Blue
  9. Dust
  10. Wired
  11. Ivy Walls
  12. Her Song

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about