UB40, the worlds biggest selling reggae group, will release their much-awaited 21st studio album UB45 on 19 April 2024 via SRG Records (Universal). The 14-track album features brand new songs including forthcoming singles Gimme Some Kinda Sign” and Home”, plus re-recordings of some of the bands most beloved hits. Pre order UB45 from 9am on 19 January.

Over the course of 45 years, UB40 have garnered over 100 million album sales, 50 UK Top 40 singles and 10 UK Top 10 albums. The band has stood the test of time, touring the world together and recording music shot through with an unbreakable bond, fostered by their long-standing friendships and shared Birmingham roots. The line-up proudly boasts all but one of the surviving founding members, now bolstered by the reinvigorating and reenergising presence of vocalist Matt Doyle.

There are seven brand new UB40 recordings on this album, including forthcoming lead single Gimme Some Kinda Sign”, a cover of Brenton Woods 1967 track Gimme Little Sign”. The group added a special UB40 flavour to the legendary soul classic. It was chosen by Matt Doyle, who brought it to Robin Campbell, unaware that the song had been on the guitarist and vocalists wish list since the Labour Of Love (1983) days.

UB45 sees the band do what they do best, with songs that fearlessly address societal hot button issues and take a firm stand against the injustices of the world. This is apparent from the off on opening track Home”, complete with trademark UB40 beats and the powerful themes of inequality and bigotry. Other new recordings include a beautiful rendition of Bill Withers’ “Hope Shell Be Happier” (1971), Trouble”, Say Nothing”, Fool Me Once”, and the single Champion” which was the official anthem of the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

UB40s iconic tunes Food For Thought”, ”King”, Tyler”, Red Red Wine”, Cherry Oh Baby”, Sing Our Own Song” and Kingston Town” have all been given a fresh recorded treatment while retaining the spirit, timbre and melodies that fans know and love. In addition to Matts vocals, Jamaican keyboard player Jahred Gordon has joined the band ranks. Long-time producing partner Jamie Travers, son of late founding member and legendary saxophonist Brian Travers, also plays keys. Jamie worked to isolate his fathers sax from live recordings, grafting the sounds onto the re-recorded tracks so that the group could honour their bandmate, who died in 2021.

Robin Campbell said: Were so proud of the new album. We wanted to record UB45 to celebrate 45 years of our music, and also to showcase Matt Doyles vocals on the tracks. Hes brought a new lease of life to our music, as has the addition of fellow Brummie, permanent guest” MC Gilly G and my son, Matt Campbell on backing vocals. When you play songs over so many years, the arrangements and vocals evolve and change. These updated versions of our hits are still close to the originals, but now reflect how we perform them today and they sound better than ever.”


1. Home

2. Food For Thought

3. King

4. Champion

5. Tyler

6. Trouble

7. Red Red Wine

8. Fool Me Once

9. Cherry Oh Baby

10. Say Nothing

11. Sing Our Own Song

12. Gimme Some Kinda Sign

13. Kingston Town

14. Hope Shell Be Happier

Formed in Birmingham in 1978, UB40 have proudly worn their working-class roots on their sleeves since the early days. Capturing the hearts, minds, and dancing feet of disaffected British youth, their loyal audience has grown and evolved with them over the past 45 years, gathering new and younger fans along the way, thanks to the power and impact of music and messages that continue to resonate today.

UB40s 45 year celebrations will continue well into 2024. Following the release of UB45, the band will embark on a massive headline arena tour of the UK, travelling the length and breadth of the country with special guests Soul II Soul.

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about